Music Fridays #4

It’s time for another Music Friday! This one is adult genre super messed up non-con m/m relationships yaoi edition. [Consider yourself warned about potential content in this post.] To find out more, please click below the cut.

I Hate Everything About You   By: Three Days Grace

Every time we lie awake
After every hit we take
Every feeling that I get
But I haven’t missed you yet

Every roommate kept awake
By every sigh and scream we make
All the feelings that I get
But I still don’t miss you yet

Only when I stop to think about it

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?
I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?

Every time we lie awake
After every hit we take
Every feeling that I get
But I haven’t missed you yet

Only when I stop to think about it

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?
I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?

Only when I stop to think about you,
I know
Only when you stop to think about me,
do you know?

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?
You hate everything about me
Why do you love me?

I hate
You hate
I hate
You love me

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?

 

And the book I’ve chosen for this song is…

cake.jpg

Cake by Derekica Snake. Admittedly there are a lot of yaoi mangas and some other books as well that I could have used for this song. However, this book is the novel I’ve read that has been closest to a yaoi manga featuring a messed up relationship. Basically, Marcus is supposed to do a hit job on Edward. Instead he ends up kidnapping Edward, changing his name to “Sex”, makes him work out for several hours a day and makes him his personal sex slave for a year. If any of that summary does not engender you to wanting to read that book, I totally understand. I can’t fault anyone for not wanting to read books with non-consensual sex / rape. The story does get so much better as it progresses, but this is the kind of book you either love or hate.

After a year, “Sex” has the choice to either stay a slave or have the chance to become an equal and be turned into a vampire. He decides to become a vampire and adopts the name Xavier. Shortly after he turns he’s ready to admit that while he formerly hates Marcus, he now loves him. While he now recognizes that he loves Marcus, he still doesn’t know 100% what he thinks of Marcus or of the fact that he sees himself as needing Marcus. As the story progresses, you find out reasons for why Marcus is the way he is, not that it excuses his earlier (and at times continued) behaviour towards Xavier.

Predictably Xavier has a lot of hate towards Marcus at the start, and even later on he’s not always consumed with love. In addition, Marcus has a really twisted way of demonstrating his love towards others. All totalled, this book and song seemed like really fitting choices together.

Leave a Reply

