Down the TBR Hole #5

I’m posting this early this week, as I’ll be travelling on Sunday. Now we’re going to get down to 5 books to keep and 5 books to delete from by TBR.

TO KEEP:

astroboy.jpg

Osamu Tezuka is considered the “godfather of manga” and Astroboy is one of the first mangas, if not the first. I also loved the 80s cartoon show version of this when I was a young child. I also love how dark the beginning of Astroboy’s story is considering that this is a kids story. For sure I need to check out the first volume of this!

theredbook

This is a Caldecott Award winning wordless book about a girl that goes on an adventure. ❤ I so want to read this, and obviously it won’t take too long to actually read this book once I’m able to get my hands on it!

grit.jpg

I’m super interested in reading all books on growth mindset / grit I can get my hands on, as I want to cultivate it in myself and my students.

abillionairedinosaur

If this short story were much longer than 21 pages, I probably wouldn’t want to read it. If this story were more expensive, I probably wouldn’t want to read it, but for the cost and length I admit I’m curious (and hoping for a laugh). If I had any sense of shame about the media I consume, I would be ashamed of this, but clearly this is a joke so *shrugs* Hopefully I won’t regret my intense curiosity! (also for the record I only knew about this book at all because my author love T.J.Klune was on Twitter commenting on the title XD)

askingforit

I’ve heard a lot of great things about this from fellow feminist book bloggers, booktubers and feminists in general. This is a key piece of lit I’d like to eventually read to educate myself.

TO DELETE:

hellschildren.jpg

I’m sure it’s good, it’s just that “post-apocalyptic survival thriller,” doesn’t sound like my favourite genre, so for now I’ll delete it.

neveragain

I kind of don’t even know why this is on my tbr. The rating is not great and the summary seems mediocre. DELETE.

findingaudrey.jpg

To be honest Sophie Kinsella and her books just don’t appeal to me that much. I might eventually read one, but I think I’m going to take her books off my tbr, because I just don’t care. It was more because of her popularity that I had any of her books on my tbr to begin with. I do like that the main character has / deals with anxiety, but the plot doesn’t look like anything compelling to me.

theworldsgreatest.jpg

This is a middle grade novel that might just be amazing, but after rereading the summary, I decided I just don’t care too much about reading it any time in the near future. There are just so many books I want to read more.

stonetales.jpg

Not reading this book is a matter of having many other things I’d like to read more at this point in time. Firstly in terms of Atwood, I’d like to reread A Handmaid’s Tale, which was required reading in high school. After that, we’ll see if I’d like to read any other Atwood.

One thought on “Down the TBR Hole #5

Leave a Reply

