Tag : The College Freshman Book Tag

Hello all! This is my umpteenth post today, blame my schedule, but at least I always (eventually) get to it! I was tagged by Vrinda over at A Bookish Human. This tag was created by Dawlyn and Krista @ Little Blind Book Finds.

If you are curious about my answers for these various aspects of college, click to see beyond the cut.

Rules :

  1. Give credit to the creator (done.)
  2. Answer the questions to the best of your ability! You don’t have to be in college or have gone to college to answer these!
  3. Tag three people to complete the tag.

The Roommate

Roommates can be a hit or miss experience freshman year, especially when you don’t get the opportunity to pick who you room with. Name a character you’d love to be roommates with and one you’d hate to be roommates with.

I would love to be roommates with Anne Shirley. She’s so much more talkative than I, but she does calm down a bit as she ages and given that I am in my 30s I assume that when I say I’d like Anne as a roommate, that’d she’d be of similar age to myself. She just seems imagination filled, so spontaneous and so much fun. I also believe (hope) that Anne would be liberal minded if she lived in modern times.

For someone I’d hate to be roommates with, I choose Harriet the Spy. I understand that Harriet was a child in the book she starred in, but let’s get into the ways she is loathsome: 1. She spies on people she has no business spying on, sneaking into their house and hiding in their dumbwaiter and other places, she acts like she has the right to do this because she wants to be the best spy ever, 2. She writes really hateful and horrible things about her classmates. When her classmates find these things, in the book she only fake apologizes so they’ll get off her back about it and so she won’t be a social pariah. 3. She’s only interested in doing things her way and playing games her way and is incredibly bossy. Okay like maybe she would be better as an adult, but the fact that she has zero remorse about writing heinous things about her classmates really doesn’t engender me to Harriet.

Orientation

Before your freshman year officially begins, you typically go to an orientation to familiarize yourself with the campus. Orientation can be both exciting and scary as you’re experiencing something new. Name a book that you read to experience a new genre, or to familiarize yourself with a topic you knew nothing about. Did you like the book? What did you learn from it?

lesmis01

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo was my first French truly classic (meaning The Little Prince I’d count more as a modern classic). I already loved the core story, but the issue is Victor Hugo loves to go on and on and on and on and on and on about things that don’t truly matter or have any bearing on the story. For example, are 50+ pages of non-fiction about the Parisian sewer system truly necessary? Not in any way, shape or form. I wanted to have bragging rights about having read (or listened to) the whole thing, so I sloughed through it, in all honesty if I were to read this again, I’d only read the abridged version as that version probably keeps to the magnificent story. Five hundred pages + of this could have easily been edited out (and have been in some abridged versions). Apparently Victor Hugo was a historian though, so with that in mind the length of this and why it’s so damn long makes slightly more sense, even if it is très annoying.

Homesick

It is normal to experience homesickness at some point after moving away from home for the first time. Name a book from your childhood that you love so much that you sometimes miss, and may even find yourself rereading it often.

anneofgreengables

After my first answer, this is hardly a surprise! I love and adore the Anne series. I have read everything by L. M. Montgomery at least once, but this series holds a special place in my heart!

Choosing A Major

Choosing a major is something every college student has to do at some point, but many students choose their freshman year. Hopefully your major is something you are passionate about. Name a book that you have read about a topic you are passionate about, or a character from a book that shares a similar passion as you.

weshouldall

This title is rather self-explanatory, I believe that we should all be feminists, and this book is an excellent feminism 101.

Join The Club

Joining different clubs and groups can often be an exciting thing to jump into as a freshman for some, and nerve-wracking for others. Name a popular book or book series that you didn’t think you’d enjoy, but ended up loving.

 

Based on my initial experience with the rape and dubious consent in book one, I was really unsure about whether or not I would like this. I also can’t knock people who don’t like this series or book because of that reason, as those are very problematic issues. As of Prince’s Gambit and especially King’s Rising, I started to understand more why Laurent was acting the way he was. Not that any of his earlier behaviour was excused, but it’s the psychology and political power play behind certain actions that make it interesting. I wouldn’t go so far as to say that I initially thought I would hate this or that I ended up loving it; but after reading about a quarter of the first book I thought I’d hate it and after reading significantly into Prince’s Gambit, I found I liked it.

The All-Nighter

As a college freshman and a college student in general, all-nighters are pretty common. Name one book that was so good, you stayed up all night reading it.

Honestly I don’t often stay up all night reading a book, though fanfiction to be certain I do! The last time I read a book for most of the night was in the days of L. M. Montgomery and J. K. Rowling. The last time I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning when I knew I had work the next day was probably for one of the Hexworld books.

The Night Before It’s Due

Speaking of those all-nighters, they usually have something to do with that assignment you put off until the last minute. Name a popular book or book series that you put off reading for way too long.

cityofbones

Honestly I’m not sure if I will ever read Cassandra Clare. I’ll probably give her a try, but I hesitate to do so because of how many accusations she has received concerning plagiarism. Look up “Cassandra Clare plagiarism” on google if you’re curious as to what I’m talking about. In that sense I really don’t feel like I’m late to the party at all, and it might never be a party I’ll attend.

00percy

I suppose this would be a better choice as I actually did intend to read this last year, but never got around to it. Percy Jackson is such a popular middle grade series, and I always like keeping on top of popular children’s and middle grade stuff as I’m an elementary school teacher. I’ve also never read anything by Rick Riordan.

The Hangover

You may or may not have experienced a hangover… or 10 during your freshman year in college. Name a book that left you with a book hangover after you finished it.

wolsong

I can’t wait until the second book in this series comes out. Wolfsong was just EVERYTHING. I loved the characters and the world and I just need more of it!

On A Budget

Freshman year, you usually learn what it means to be a broke college student. Name a book that you remember buying even though you were tight on cash, because you just had to have it.

fake

I needed the seven volumes of Fake by Sanami Matoh, which came out during my first year of university. It was one of the first widely available m/m shounen-ai romance manga, scanned, translated and published in English. It was also a lot of fun to read!

English 101

General ed courses are typically all you take freshman year, and English is usually one of them. (Depending on the prof that could be a good thing 😉 ) Name a required reading book that you loved. (it can be middle/high school or college)

catcherin.jpg

I loved when I read this in high school. To be fair, I’m not sure how I’d feel if I read this now, but in high school I really identified with the surly and pessimistic Holden.

The Textbook

Part of being a broke college student is trying to find the cheapest way to buy a textbook. To make it worse, some freshman gen ed courses end up having no use for the book at all. Name a book that you spent money on and ended up not liking.

thewrath

The writing was incredibly flowery. I could not feel what the characters were feeling based on the way it was written. Nothing seemed to be happening and I did not care that much about either character together or apart. Total recipe equated to me not caring for this book.

Office Hours

All professors have office hours, and often times students don’t take advantage of them. Advice for freshman: go to office hours! It is a good idea to get to know your professors. Making connections with them can lead to great tips on assignments, internship opportunities, and job connections. Name a book (autobiography or biography) that you read to get to know more about someone you are interested in.

iamspock

I’d recommend this for fans of Leonard Nimoy and/or Spock and/or Star Trek. It was an informative read.

The Mean Professor

There’s always that one professor that no one likes, especially in freshman gen ed courses. Name a villain or any character you disliked, that you would hate to have as a professor.

dolor.jpg

I’m sure I wasn’t the only one who hated this b**** even more than Voldemort. Probably because she’s a (gross exaggeration) of people we’ve seen in real life or how we imagine certain select people would be if they were placed in positions of power. She’s a big giant bully and power hungry control freak.

Drop The Class

Sometimes It gets to the midpoint of the semester and you can’t take any more of a particular class, and decide to drop it. Name a book or author you thought you’d enjoy reading but ended up not liking.

aclockworkorange.jpg

To be fair I didn’t think I’d like it, but I didn’t think I’d hate it either. Unmotivated violence just for the hell of it has never been my thing. I get that the violence had a purpose in terms of what the author was saying, but I mean when characters are doing super violent things all the time without any intent besides that of causing destruction, sadness and anger simply because they can, it doesn’t tend to be my cup of tea.

Life Lessons

I learned so many life lessons my freshman year of college. The experience made me learn so much about myself that I didn’t realize. Name a book that has made you reflect on life.

mindset

In order to cultivate our best selves, we need to have what’s called “growth mindset” rather than “fixed mindset.” Growth mindset is about having a can-do attitude, setting goals, pursuing goals and not letting set backs keep us down. Of course I’d always had a bit of growth mindset in me, but when I took a professional development course about it (for my teaching) I grew so interested in learning all I can and about how I could teach myself and my students to have more of a growth mindset. Carol Dweck literally wrote the book on it, so it’s a great place to start!

As for tagging Given the number of entries I’ve made today I’m going to cheat and say that anyone who wants to do this, can!

Are there any of my answers that you agree with? Disagree with? How would you answer? Please comment down below!

2 thoughts on “Tag : The College Freshman Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award – Shaz Reads

Leave a Reply

