Music Friday #3

I’m sorry not sorry this is another Scissor Sisters Edition it’s just that ever since I heard this song, I automatically connected it to an anime / manga! Given that there is an AMV (Anime Music Video) that someone else made on youtube (which I looked up after I made the connection between this anime and the song), clearly at least one other person thought the same thing. For more information about the song and anime/manga of which I speak, please check under the cut.

“She’s My Man”

This town was built on muddy stilts
By the lunatic parade
It rains like Revelations
Gonna wash these freaks away
Some girls wanna hold your hand
And some girls like to pray
Well my girl takes her drinks
With dust and rusty razor blades

As I lie between these covers
I wanna tell her that I love it
When she chokes me in the
Backseat of her riverboat ’cause

She’s my man
And we got all the balls we need
When you taste that pavement
You’re amazed
She smells your sympathy
So bye bye ladies
May the best queen hold the crown
For the most bush sold on the levee
My my, how word gets around
She strangles for a good time
And she kills my self-control
She’s my man, don’t be too sad sonny
‘Cause she’ll never be your woman no more

Someday soon, this dank lagoon’s
Gonna sink right into hell
They’ll hide you from Big Ida
At the Sho’ Enough Hotel
The Ladies of the evening’s just
A tombstone in your bed
Well my girl eats a wounded preacher
‘tween two loaves of bread

I know she’s up to something
But how can I run when she’s just
Keel-hauled twenty-on to nothing
I’ll stay next to the steel coal oven ’cause

She’s my man
And we got all the balls we need
When you taste that pavement
You’re amazed
She smells your sympathy
So bye bye ladies
May the best queen hold the crown
For the most bush sold on the levee
My my, how word gets around
She strangles for a good time
And she kills my self-control
She’s my man, don’t be too sad sonny
‘Cause she’ll never be your woman no more

All you need’s just a fist of a tear-stained bunny
When the good ship comes to town
Who said loves a bitch’ll sit next to me honey
Because this old boat’s gonna run aground
I don’t want to be the burden
Or your jealous bastard
I don’t wanna be the Tarzan of your next epic disaster

She’s my man
And we got all the balls we need
When you taste that pavement
You’re amazed
She smells your sympathy
So bye bye ladies
May the best queen hold the crown
For the most bush sold on the levee
My my, how word gets around
She strangles for a good time
And she kills my self-control
She’s my man, don’t be too sad sonny
‘Cause she’ll never be your woman no more

She’s my man, can’t you feel her comin’
She’s my man, she’s gonna keep you runnin’
She’s my man, she’s gonna teach you something
She’s me, she’s my man

And the (to me) super obvious connecting manga.

Ranma ½ by Rumiko Takahashi. Admittedly I haven’t watched or read a lot of this, but I still know the basic concept. Basically the female Akane and our title male character Ranma are engaged to be married, an engagement that initially they both reject. Their fathers are both friends / dojo masters and are into martial arts so the match seemed quite natural to them. Over time their feelings develop, but things aren’t nearly as straight forward as all that.

While Ranma was on his martial arts journey he came across some magical/mythical/cursed springs. Should someone fall into one of these springs and emerge again, from henceforth whenever they are doused with cold water they will become whatever it is that first drowned in the spring. Whenever they are doused with hot water they will change back to normal. As it happens, Ranma falls into one of these springs and his cold water form is a girl (view the second picture from the left to see Ranma in his male and female form).

From the very title of the song “She’s My Man” I was thinking of Ranma. Ranma is often in female form throughout the series, and he’s having to protect himself/fend off people as both a man defending himself from boys who have a crush on Akane / see him as a rival and a woman who has men who crush on her. Akane is a girl through and through but she does not hesitate to kick Ranma’s ass if she feels it’s necessary.

Let’s go back to the beginning of the song, “This town was built on muddy stilts
By the lunatic parade.” Ok, I just had a flashback to the cursed springs part of the anime.

ranma05

Yes those are literally sticks (to be used like something akin to stilts) sticking into the mud at the bottom of the spring, and out of the water water. In the anime a part of the training was jumping from stick to stick to avoid falling in. Then “the lunatic parade” just seems like a perfect description for Ranma ½ in general. It’s almost like they wrote this with Ranma in mind!

Then there’s this verse, which to me is just pure the character of Ranma (but also kind of his counterpart, Akane who is always ready to put Ranma in his place).

“She’s my man
And we got all the balls we need
When you taste that pavement
You’re amazed
She smells your sympathy
So bye bye ladies
May the best queen hold the crown
For the most bush sold on the levee
My my, how word gets around
She strangles for a good time
And she kills my self-control
She’s my man, don’t be too sad sonny
‘Cause she’ll never be your woman no more”

I’m quite sure I could pull almost every line from this song and connect it to Ranma, but you get the idea!

 

Leave a Reply

