Down the Rabbit Hole #4

Wowzors, we’re here for yet another “Down the Rabbit Hole” where I delete five books off my TBR, keep 5 and explain why I am keeping some and deleting others. On to the show!

To Keep:

statusupdate

Status Update by: Annabeth Albert

I picked this one up when it was on sale for my ereader. It looks super adorable. Basically a video game designer gets stranded in a snowstorm. Another guy offers him shelter. The two end up connecting via video games. I don’t expect that this story will be life altering or anything, but it sounds like a good bit of escapism. : )

thefifthseason

The Fifth Season by: N. K. Jemisin

This is an epic fantasy book that keeps appearing on many people’s lists of favourites or exceptional books. Suffice to say, I have to at least try the first book…at least eventually!

thinkingstraight.jpg

Thinking Straight by Robin Reardon

This is a book about a boy who is sent to a camp to “deprogram” his gayness. ūüė• Suffice to say he does not get deprogrammed and learns a lot of life lessons throughout the book. This book also has a great rating, which is always a plus!

adiscoveryofwitches

A Discovery of Witches by: Deborah Harkness

Let’s take a look at the blurb:

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

Key words/phrases that attract me to this book: library, sorcery, fantastical underworld, horde of daemons, witches and vampires descends upon the library, coveted treasure, she is the only creature who can break the spell

*starry starry eyes*

themusicofthespheres

The Music of the Spheres by: Chase Potter

This appears to be a very slow burn friends to lovers kind of romance. Were it not for the exceptional rating, I’m not sure if I’d pick this up, but this did appear on a list of favourite m/m romances from someone I trust. Furthermore an average rating of 4.46/5 is nothing to scoff at!

To Delete:

chinamountainzhang.jpg

China Mountain Zhang by Maureen F. McHugh

This is a sci-fi novel that takes place in China, but even after re-reading the summary, I honestly can’t remember why I added this to my TBR. As I don’t consider that a good sign, this one needs to be deleted for now.

thebeastisananimal

The Beast is an Animal By: Peternelle Van Arsdale

This book came out back in February appears to be a fantasy, paranormal, magical adventure. While the summary is intriguing, it’s not on the top of my list of things to read, nor does it have exceptional ratings (merely okay). I’ve decided to strike this one from my list for the time being.

thesecretcase.jpg

The Secret Casebook of Simon Feximal by K. J. Charles

This is the fourth book in a series I haven’t even read the first of. Furthermore, I haven’t read K. J. Charles before and already have the first book in another one of his series downloaded. I’m sure¬†this book is¬†good,¬†and that I’ll like it, I just have no idea why this is on my TBR all things considered.¬†This is one that I clearly need to delete.

theguildedcage

Gilded Cage by: Vic James

Quote from Goodreads, “For readers of Victoria Aveyard and Kiera Cass comes a darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England.” After reviewing that first sentence, I just thought, “now wait one hot second.” I read Red Queen last year and was rather meh about it. As for Kiera Cass, I literally have almost zero interest in reading her most famous series, The Selection. Who knows, perhaps this is an unfair comparison, but the initial statement and the blurb don’t really inspire me to pick this up any time soon so, DELETE.

distresssignals.jpg

Distress Signals by: Catherine Ryan Howard

It’s a thriller about someone who disappears while on a cruise ship, on vacation overseas. This book is so low on my list of books I’m prioritizing reading (as in not a priority in any way) that I just decided to up and delete it.

Any on this list you would have kept or deleted or are interested in reading yourself? Please leave a comment down below!

2 thoughts on “Down the Rabbit Hole #4

  1. I’ve read “A Discovery of Witches” It was just okay for me and didn’t motivate me to continue with the series. Maybe you’ll have a different reaction!

    Like

Leave a Reply

