Down the Rabbit Hole #3

Alright, it’s time for me 5 to keep, 5 to delete list. Let’s get to it!

Keep

 

dogboy.jpg

Have you ever watched a documentary about “feral children”? I’m so intrigued by the concept, and that’s basically what this book concerns. It’s about a boy who’s left to fend for himself and begins living with dogs and adhering to their way of life. This is certainly a keeper for me!

innocentbird.jpg

Karasu is an angel who looks like a devil. Shirasagi is a devil who loves God. When they cross paths in a crumbling city, their forbidden love will change the destiny of the world!

I admit that I’m curious. It’s also got a reasonably high rating.

theeyreaffair

I love Jane Eyre and the blurb makes me curious as hell about this one.

Welcome to a surreal version of Great Britain, circa 1985, where time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, veryseriously. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem, militant Baconians heckle performances of Hamlet, and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection, until someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature. When Jane Eyre is plucked from the pages of Brontë’s novel, Thursday must track down the villain and enter the novel herself to avert a heinous act of literary homicide.

 

killtheboyband

Although I’ve never been much into bandom (though I love the Japanese boyband Arashi) the concept of there being a group of girls who go too far, then have the deal with the consequences is definitely something I want to read more about in this book!

icanseeformiles

This book involves one character who goes blind in an accident, then is sent to a camp or the blind. While there he falls for the camp supervisor, who considers himself “damaged goods”, but Josh needs to convince Charlie (the supervisor) to take a chance on love. I honestly don’t see myself loving the above book, but I certainly would like to read it as I find books about adapting to being newly disabled quite interesting. Also, there’s the m/m romance aspect, which readers of my blog will already know I read a lot of.

Delete

stormyglenn.jpg

While I do want to read some Stormy Glenn (she’s a popular m/m romance author) I have other books by this author on my tbr list that I’m more interested in, and that have higher ratings. When checking out an author for the first time I either try a book of their’s that is really highly rated, that I’m really curious about or think I’ll enjoy. I probably would like this, but I’d probably love some of her other works more, so I’m going to delete this one for now. (there’s always potential to re-add it later after I read something else by this author)

daemon.jpg

While I’m intrigued by the concepts of computers taking over and having very dire consequences for human life, I’m not sure if I’m interested in this book specifically. So, with my tbr being almost 2000 books strong, I’m going to delete this one.

terrier

I already have Alanna by this same author downloaded. I have had it downloaded for ages, it’s just that I only have so much time to read and I haven’t gotten to it yet. This series is also supposed to be very good and is set in the same world (though at a different time). I just think realistically, I’m going to have to read Alanna before getting to this one, given that I have already spent money on the book. So I’ll read the Alanna series first, to see what I think, and I might eventually add this back onto my tbr.

thesilenceofsix.jpg

I’m sure it’s good, it’s just not my first choice for what I’d like to be reading. I don’t know too much about it, but it involves a hacktivist needing to go on the run.

lucyandlinh.jpg

It’s described in the blurb as an East Asian version of Mean Girls and Fresh Off the Boat which is why I initially marked it as “to read” but if I’m perfectly honest with myself, this is not something that I’m likely to pick up any time soon. There are just so many things I want to read more.

 

Any books you decided to add to your tbr or take off? Please be sure to comment below!

3 thoughts on “Down the Rabbit Hole #3

  1. I have wanted to read the Beka Copper series by Tamora but I have to finish the Protector of the Small Quartet first. I finished the first two books when I was in middle school and as I am typing this up, I have the The First Test sitting beside to be read for one of my reading challenges this week. So excited to read it.

    Like

    • yeah I just decided that in most cases if I already have another book by an author downloaded and it’s the more iconic one and if I don’t have a huge preference for reading one over the other, I just should take all other books by that author off my tbr until I read the thing I’ve already downloaded and decide if I’d like to continue reading that author. I have no idea when I’ll read Alanna but I’ve come across so many recommendations for that book before.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree with that method. Trying one of there most iconic pieces could let you know if you wanna invest further in them. I think I have taken this approach more than once myself expect when it came to John Green. His books were getting so much hype after A Fault in Our Stars came out that I refused to read that book because everyone else was reading it. I decided to read one of his lesser talked about books, An Abundance of Katherines, and really enjoyed it. Especially with all the math. I am a nerd like this 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

