Top 10 Tuesday – Top 10 Books I’ve Read so Far this Year

Yes, I know I’m super late with this. You’ll have to forgive me though, like literally I will make you forgive me with the explanation of how busy I am at the moment. I’m a teacher at an international school and just finished my school year. I teach grade 3 and my students are at school for nine hours every day, and my school year is a full more than a month longer than a typical western school year. In addition, I’m moving from Taiwan to Japan next year with my cats, am currently preparing them to go and am trying to figure out housing in Japan. I’m also going to Canada for a 3 week vacation, in two days time. I’m trying to organize everything I need to buy in Canada, what I need to do once I return to Taiwan and what I need to do once I enter Japan. Fun times!

That being said, I won’t bring up how busy I am again, just know that things will be shaky over the next few months, but I’ll do what I can, when I can. If you survived that massive spiel, let’s get on to the show.

I could have so easily filled this list with more T.J.Klune books, but decided that I was going to stick with a maximum of two books per author. So without further ado, here are some books that I’ve read in the first half of the year and have adored!

Six of Crows / Crooked Kingdom By: Leigh Bardugo

These books belong together. I am definitely a girl who loves characters and is more character driven, and this book gave me so many things I was craving. I loved all the characters and the relationships between them ranging from friendship, romantic relationships and the camaraderie. In addition these books were so diverse. With the things that occurred, I was often on the edge of my seat, waiting for what was going to happen next! Right when you think the first book couldn’t possibly be one upped, it happens! To me this duology was everything. I mean the Grisha trilogy was…okay, but this was so brilliant!

firstandfirst

First and First (Interborough #3) by: Santino Hassell

Caleb left a sour taste in my mouth at the end of the second book in the Interborough series, but you know an author is good at what they do when they make you love and adore a character you previously hated, just one book later. You come to understand Caleb and why he is the way he is. I loved him with Ollie and the two of them together were just scorching and on fire. To me this book was everything. *___*

hexbreaker

Hexbreaker (Hexworld #1) By: Jordan L. Hawk

Magic, historically influenced, witches who can only use their powers with magical shifting familiars? World building based around these concepts? Score! Cicero and Tom were so perfect in the first book as well. I just could not help but love them.

agatheringofshadows

A Gathering of Shadows By: V.E.Schwab

I didn’t love this series as a whole, but to me the second book was everything I was hoping for. Out of world building, characterization and action; characterization is the most my bag and that’s primarily what book two seemed to be doing…fleshing out the characters more. I loved Lila, Kell, Holland, Rhy and the introduction of the wonderful and illustrious Alucard. 

wolsong

Wolfsong by: T. J. Klune

This book was just perfect. I can’t wait for a continuation to the series. This is a shifter book, but it deals so much with human relationships, family relationships and friendship, as well as romantic relationships. It’s such a good balance of drama, action and romance. I also love the world that it’s set in! If you like m/m romance, drama and fantasy, I think you should at least give this one a try!

vicious

Vicious By: V.E.Schwab

From the moment I first heard about this book, I knew with very little doubt that this would be right up my alley. This is a tale of two psychopaths, trying to gain their own super powers and what they do with the subsequent superpowers they gain. Victor Vale, our resident protagonist is sent to prison and then vows revenge against his former friend Eli. I love anti-heroes and Victor Vale is no exception. You can’t help but rooting for Victor Vale because between him and Eli, the former’s motivations end up resonating with you more. I’m on the edge of my seat waiting for the second book.

peterdarling.jpg

Peter Darling by: Austin Chant

Those of you who know me, know that I am not a fan of J. M. Barrie’s Peter Pan, however I often like Peter Pan derived stories. This one was no exception. Once I read the summary (Wendy is trans, and Peter Pan and P.P is a bit of a villain and P.P and Captain Hook fall in love) I knew that I needed this book like…yesterday. While it was a little rushed, it was an absolutely perfect combination of elements for me!

murmurationklune

Murmuration By: T. J. Klune

It’s really hard to say much about this without giving spoilers. Let’s just say we have 1950s Pleasantville, and two of the members of said community love each other, and have been slowly moving into a relationship. Unfortunately Mike feels like he’s going crazy, as things appear to be not quite right and he starts to hear voices in his head. I really can’t go any further than that, but you end up speculating and it’s such a ride.

fastconnection

Fast Connection (Cyberlove #2)  by: Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell

This one is a co-written book by Santino Hassel and Megan Erickson and my favourite in the Cyberlove series. Just like Caleb in First and First, you end up hating Dominic in the book he’s introduced in. This book completely redeems him. Luke and Dominic are so great together and their connection is so hot and unexpected and wonderful.

blooddivine

Blood Divine by: Greg Howard

There’s a magical family and a group of vampires who’s intent is to kill all vampires in the world because they think their kind is evil. There are plot twists and there’s an awesome romance. This one was a Netgalley book that was so so worth it!

Rules of Summer by: Shaun Tan

I have read so many great picture books this year, I could have easily chosen another one but this one is so atmospheric. It’s fun and whimsical and fairytale like and dark and weird and strange and spooky and I just adored it!

OTHER AMAZING BOOKS (my honourable mentions)

The Heart of Texas    by: R. J. Scott

Bear, Otter and the Kid series   by: T. J. Klune

How to Be a Normal Person     by: T. J. Klune

The School for Good and Evil    by: Soman Chainani

Mature Content (Cyberlove #4) by: Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell

Sunset Park (Interborough #2) by: Santino Hassell

Fluke by: James Herbert

Picture Books:

Mirror by: Jeannie Baker

Waiting for Mama by: Tae-Jun Lee

Lost in Translation by: Ella Frances Sanders

This is Not My Hat and We Found a Hat by: Jon Klassen

Rosie Revere, Engineer by: Andrea Beaty

Owl Moon by: Jane Yolen

The Boy Who was Raised by Librarians by: Carla Morris

Naked Mole Rat Gets Dressed by: Mo Willems

What Do you Do with a Problem? by: Kobi Yamada and Mae Besom

The Black Book of Colors by: Menena Cottin

 

Just curious what were some of your favourite reads of this year so far and also, are there any books on this list that you have read and agree with (or don’t agree with) or any you now want to read?

10 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Top 10 Books I’ve Read so Far this Year

  1. Oh man, you sound like me! I have such a hard time not filling tags with nothing but TJ Klune, lol! I loved Murmuration too. It was so unique. And Wolfsong is in my top two TJ Klune books ever. I’m dying for Ravensong!

    Are you getting excited for the final BOatK book?

    Like

    • SOOOO excited for it. I mean Destiny of Dragons I can wait for the audiobook (as I know it’ll be an amazing experience) but I NEED to download The Winding Road as soon as it comes out. Also have you seen that the covers were all redone. OMG I want a copy of all of them with the new covers on my shelf ❤

      Like

      • I read Destiny of Dragons, and it was great! I liked it more than Lightning Struck Heart! I’m hoping to nab a Winding Road ARC. I’m dreading it and I’m so excited for it! I totally saw all the new covers! I love them so much. It made me want to buy them too! (I love having someone to squee with!)

        Like

Leave a Reply

