Down the TBR Hole #2

Posting this a little early this week, to account for being busy tomorrow. Every week I put my Goodreads tbr list on random, and then talk about the first five books I intend to keep on my tbr and why and the first five books I’m deleting from my tbr and why.

That being said, on with the show!

Books to Keep on my TBR

maud

I adore L. M. Montgomery, and this is a novel based on her life. I already have this on my e-reader. This is a definite keeper!

thestarthief

This book seems like a lot of fun. It’s a middle grade story with clashes between magic and science / a battle between steamships and mythical constellations.

thetroublewithwomen.jpg

This is a short book filled with cartoons about the theories some of the greatest (male) thinkers in history had about women. It’s apparently both cringy and funny. I certainly have to check this one out!

psychopathtest

This is supposed to be an excellent non-fiction book about psychopaths. Personally I find the topic of psychopaths and what makes a psychopath to be fascinating!

sayonara

I loved the anime for the above manga. It was so quirky, funny, weird and a little bit dark.

Here’s the blurb:

GOODBYE, MR. DESPAIR

Nozomu Itoshiki is depressed. Very depressed. He’s certifiably suicidal, but he’s also the beloved schoolteacher of a class of unique students, each charming in her own way: The stalker. The shut-in. The obsessive-compulsive. The girl who comes to class every day with strange bruises. And Kafuka, the most optimistic girl in the world, who knows that every cloud has a silver lining. For all of them, it’s a special time, when the right teacher can have a lasting positive effect on their lives. But is that teacher Itoshiki, a.k.a. Zetsubou-sensei, who just wants to find the perfect place to die?

Suffice to say I need to check this one out. ; )

Books to Take Off my TBR

thereasonijump

While I’m curious about this book (the inner voice of someone with autism) it’s not one of the books concerning/relating to autism that I want to read most. Besides which, I already have the much more highly rated Carly’s Voice downloaded, so I’ll delete this one.

etiquette.jpg

If I ever get around the Parasol Protectorate and like it, than I’ll add this, but considering I haven’t read Gail Carriger yet, I figure for now I should just keep the book I want to read more and the one has a slightly higher rating on my TBR. This one is being deleted, at least for now.

tinyhouses.jpg

Even if I kept this on my TBR, I’d have no idea where to get it. I added it before I realized it was a Sterek (think Teen Wolf) fanfiction, and kept it because it was well rated and there were interesting plot points that I wanted to look at. The thing is, even if I were to keep this: 1. I don’t watch nor have ever watched Teen Wolf (even if I have read fanfiction for it before), 2. I honestly have no earthly clue where to get this as it isn’t on the Kindle app and is not available for Kobo. So ??? certainly this is not worth keeping.

thesineatersdaughter

This is about a girl who kills people when she touches them. She is treated like a goddess and her powers are used to kill prisoners. She worries that she will never find anyone to love. While I’m sort of intrigued, there are similar books on my TBR that I want to read more, so I’m deleting this one for now.

338691.jpg

I actually don’t care that much for straight up mysteries, which is exactly what this is. I decided to put it on my tbr a while ago because of the setting (near Montreal) and my being a Canadian. Back then I was also still figuring out what my taste in books is an adult, and now I can distinctly say, I really don’t think this would be a favourite, even if I did read it.

3 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #2

  1. shame about the Louise Penny – this is a crime series but its also a study of the personality of the main detective who is a deep thinker so often uses philosophy in his reasoning

    Like

Leave a Reply

