Music Fridays #1

So I’m trying to get into habits with when I post certain things onto my blog. Not that you’ll get a on Tuesday, Thursday and Friday every week (along with reviews and tags posted whenever), but I want those days to be set up just in case I have anything to say for Top Ten Tuesday, If/Then Thursday and Music Fridays.

Today I’m introducing to you *drum roll please* Music Fridays! I know, I know, Music Mondays make more sense in terms of alliteration, but Fridays make more sense for me schedule wise. Don’t necessarily expect popular songs or books to be up here, or even songs that have English lyrics. Now of course if songs do not have English lyrics, I won’t leave you, my English language readers, high and dry, I’ll provide a translation. I’m just saying, there may be weeks when you find yourself introduced to both a new song and a new book. Anyways, you’re probably way tired with my rambling, so on with the show!

Fate – Lee Sun Hee

Promise me that when this moment’s over and we meet again
That we can put everything in the past and stand by each other

This is what we call fate, it’s something we can’t deny
Will I ever experience another day as glorious as today?

You’re a gift upon this exhausting path of life
I’ll continuously wash and shine our love so it won’t rust away
Our meeting was short like a drunken affair, but it was real

Even though this cannot last, I won’t resent it because nothing is foever
This is what we call fate, it’s something we can’t deny
Will I ever experience another day as glorious as today?

There’s so much i want to say, but you probably already know
When we meet again some time in the future
Please don’t let go again
The love we couldn’t have in this life
The fate we couldn’t live in this life

When we meet again some time in the future
Please don’t let go of me

[translation from GugaLyrics]

I lovelovelove the above song. It’s so sad and full of feeling. The singer is so talented at making people FEEL and it’s such a sad song yet always has that undercurrent of a twinge of hope for how things might be in another life or another time.

intothisriver

Although my chosen book eventually ends up with an HEA (happily ever after) so much angst and heartbreak and the feeling of someone reaching your hand into your chest and squeezing your heart occurs over and over before the HEA is finally achieved. For that reason I’m choosing the book Into This River I Drown by: T.J. Klune as my companion book to Fate. I feel like I can’t go too much into detail about the ways I connect the song’s lyrics to this book, without giving away key plot points, but just know, the angst runs deep with this one. Additionally, despite all the sad things that happen and won’t change, ultimately something real and true and beautiful wins as a character is finally able to move on.

 

2 thoughts on “Music Fridays #1

Leave a Reply

