Top 10 Tuesday – Top 10 Series I Really Want to Start Reading!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I decided that I would include ten series that I really want to start reading and also some series that I feel that I ought to start because of their popularity on the interwebs. It’ll be a great way of keeping track things, as I move forward and hopefully consume more series this year!

First – Series, Quintets, Quartets, Trilogies or Duologies (not Standalones) that I’d dearly like to start, out of my own enthusiasm for the subject matter!

The Checquy Files (sometimes known as the “Rook” series) By: Daniel O’Malley

Two Books Out (so far)

I love the trope of people waking up in mysterious circumstances, not knowing who they are or what’s going on and then having to go on adventure / solve the issue to only gradually have the picture become clearer.

Study By: Maria V. Snyder (sometimes known as the “Poison Study” series)

Six full length books so far and three short stories

I actually didn’t know this series was as long as it is until doing the research for this top ten Tuesday. I love the premise of a girl being sentenced to death but getting a chance to live if she takes on the risky job of becoming a food taster. There’s also magic involved, and the series has exceptionally good ratings. Not to mention my good friend joreadsalot has recommended Poison Study to me before.

Drug and Drop (continuation of the series Gohou Drug aka. Legal/Lawful Drug) By: CLAMP

Two manga tankoubon (trade paperback volumes) released so far.

For any of you who know manga, CLAMP is notorious for almost never finishing their manga. After Gohou Drug went on hiatus in 2003, I lost all hope that it would ever continue. Thankfully it has. Given that I enjoyed the slashy goodness paired with paranormal mysteries that involved possession to the MAX, I will happily be picking up this series at some point!

The Abyss Surrounds Us   By: Emily Skrutskie

Both books in this confirmed duology are out.

Three words – lesbian pirate queen.

SOLD

The Legend of Eli Monpress By: Rachel Aaron

Five full length books so far and one short story

First things first, I need to finish the Nice Dragons Finish Last series, of which I finished the first book last year. This author really impressed me by the first book I read by her, so I anticipate reading this one. I really don’t get the cover changes though, especially as the illustrated versions appeal to me way more.

This book involves a cheeky/charming wizard thief and his companions. In the first book he aims to “steal” the king. Stories about confident thieves planning and executing what they do best really highly appeal to me, especially if they are set in more fantastical realms. : )

Chaos Walking Trilogy    By: Patrick Ness

Three completed books in this confirmed trilogy and three short stories.

More than This was one of my favourite books of last year, and I knew I’d have to consume more Ness when I started this year. There’s such potential for him to be one of my favourites. Before you ask, yes I have read A Monster Calls but something about it didn’t work for me, however I’m hoping that other Ness books will be more up my alley.

What I can remember clearly about this, is that it involves a town where people all know one another’s thoughts, which I already find a cool concept because it means that you can’t hide anything! Also, from what I can understand the first book is also about what does manage to remain hidden despite everything!

Necromancer     By: Lish McBride

Two completed books and two short stories, this is a confirmed duology

It involves magic and I’ve heard great things about this! I remember as soon as I watched a video…quite a while ago now I remember thinking that sounds right up my alley and like I need to get on that like, yesterday. It’s been over a year now and I still haven’t gotten on that, and given that it’s just a duology I really should take the leap into this!

 

Nightrunner     By: Lynn Flewelling

Seven books out so far, and a collection of short stories

It started with a recommendation from one of my irl friends, and since then I have found two booktubers who quite love this series. Now I’m convinced I have to at least give it a try. Reading the summary for the first book, the right ingredients are there for me to like it. Let me blurb it:

When young Alec of Kerry is taken prisoner for a crime he didn’t commit, he is certain that his life is at an end. But one thing he never expected was his cellmate. Spy, rogue, thief, and noble, Seregil of Rhiminee is many things–none of them predictable. And when he offers to take on Alec as his apprentice, things may never be the same for either of them. Soon Alec is traveling roads he never knew existed, toward a war he never suspected was brewing. Before long he and Seregil are embroiled in a sinister plot that runs deeper than either can imagine, and that may cost them far more than their lives if they fail. But fortune is as unpredictable as Alec’s new mentor, and this time there just might be…Luck in the Shadows.

Words/phrases that stand out: prisoner, cellmate, spy, rogue, thief, noble, none of them predictable, traveling roads he never knew existed, embroiled in a sinister plot, deeper, cost them far more than their lives

It’s also queer, so there’s that! : )

Whyborne & Griffin     By: Jordan L. Hawk

Six full length books and one short story out so far

I am currently reading the series Hexworld and am loving it. While it’s my first Jordan L. Hawk the adoration runs deep for the stories I’ve read from her thusfar. Like her Hexworld series, this one deals with the paranormal/magical in a historical setting, with m/m romance.

The Oregon Series      By: Jae

Two full length books and six short stories out so far (potentially a duology)

This is a lesbian historical fiction involving crossdressing in order to hide one’s identity / gain more opportunities. There’s also Nora, a brothel worker who has lost all illusions about a man loving her and sweeping her off her feet. Somehow the two find themselves married and travelling together to Oregon. Life is funny that way!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Honourable Mentions – there was strong consideration to put these on the list as well before ultimately deciding on the choices up top, but these are the ones that were also strong contenders to go on the list: Legend, Wool, Unwind, The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, Proxy, Three Dark Crowns, Immemorial Year (T.J.Klune), Strange the Dreamer, Inkheart, Santa Olivia, Holmes & Moriarity, Want, A Charm of Magpies, The Parasol Protectorate, Finnikin of the Rock, The Circle (Engelsfors) 

Series I feel pressured to read because of booktube (and will eventually try/start) – anything at all Cassandra Clare, anything at all Sarah J. Maas, The Raven Cycle, Mistborn, The Name of the Wind, Percy Jackson and the Lightening Theif

 

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Top 10 Series I Really Want to Start Reading!

  1. Luck in the Shadows has been on my to be read list for YEARS! I really really need to read this one. I think Captive Prince was the very first fantasy series I read, and I was sold on the genre. But I’m so picky and have to find something just right. LOL

    Nice list. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve actually read, or started, a lot of these series. I’m constantly praising the Chaos Walking trilogy. It’s brilliant. Hold me Closer, also an awesome original series. So much fun. I’ve also been wanting to read Luck in the Shadows too. It’s already on my Kindle. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome and.yeah I saw on goodreads that you.had read and liked necromancer on goodreads when researching for this post. Also, I know its so much prettier than the standard cover *_* too bad only the first book in the series has a version that looks like this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

