The Mid Year Freak Out – Book Tag!

I was tagged by Bionic Bookworm Blog any of you who want to do this are invited to do it!

Without further ado – On with the show!

1 – THE BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2017

I’ve had a really good year in reading, so it’s hard to choose just one, so here are five books I loved!

 

2 – YOUR FAVOURITE SEQUEL THIS YEAR

crooked

I did love both books, but this one was just so absolutely wonderful! First and First, A Gathering of Shadows and Fast Connection are also right up there!

3 – A NEW RELEASE THAT YOU HAVEN’T READ BUT REALLY WANT TO

noteworthy.jpg

This book totally sounds like my bag, baby! The problem is, there’s only so much time in the day!

5 – YOUR BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT

thewrath.jpg

It’s not even that I felt very strongly that I would or wouldn’t like this, it’s just that it was mega-hyped and I just could not even. I dnfed it. This is possibly the only book I’ve dnfed this year. I just couldn’t stand the writing and the characters and didn’t feel like the characters had any depth and I had zero interest. To me this story just fell flat.

6 – BIGGEST SURPRISE OF THE YEAR

blooddivine

The book is well rated on Goodreads, but I didn’t know what to think as this is the author’s first book, I downloaded it from NetGalley and I hadn’t read anything quite like it before. I really enjoyed this paranormal / horror / lgbtqi+ book and really recommend it if that’s your jam.

7 – FAVOURITE NEW TO YOU OR DEBUT AUTHOR

howtobeanormalperson

Here’s a picture of the first Klune book I read this year, and it’s amazing. I’m going to scream Klune’s name until I’m blue in the face, so go read one/some of his books. Seriously.

8 – YOUR NEW FICTIONAL CRUSH

nicedragons

If I had to choose, I suppose Julius from Nice Dragons Finish Last. He’s just so damn cute/sweet. ^_~

9 – NEW FAVOURITE CHARACTER

There are too many to name!  Can I just cheat and say the entire Six of Crows cast (and if I can’t cheat, I suppose I may go with Victor Vale from Vicious, as I love me a good anti-hero).

10 – A BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY

howtobeanormalperson

I don’t usually cry from reading a book, but I’m going to link a book that made me laugh like a lunatic. I know I posted this one earlier but there’s an elderly women biker gang who ride Vespas named “We Three Queens” and the main character isn’t sure if they are three sisters or three lesbians in a polyamorous relationship, and doesn’t feel right in asking. Also the main character owns a video rental store in 2014, has basically never used the internet and wants to get the internet to “be normal” and it leads to basically the most hilarious customer service call EVER to be written into a book.

11 – A BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY

bearotterandthekid

I loved this book (and series) so much. I can’t wait until August when I finally get the fourth and final one. I’ll be so sad to see this end too!

12 – YOUR FAVOURITE BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATION THAT YOU’VE SEEN THIS YEAR

beautybeast

I’ve literally only seen Beauty and the Beast and at this point that is more of an adaptation of the former Disney movie than the original source material. It was ok but lacked the magic of the original.

13 – FAVOURITE BOOK POST YOU’VE PUBLISHED THIS YEAR

I suppose if I had to choose a favourite, it’s my Most Anticipated Releases. I put a lot of work into it and for me it’s an easy reference to see what I’m looking forward to, and when it’s being released.

14 – THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU HAVE BOUGHT/RECEIVED THIS YEAR

I buy very few physical books, but I love the UK/paperback covers for the Darker Shades series, which I had to buy as it was “not available in my region.” I just think they make a wonderful set!

15 – WHAT ARE SOME BOOKS THAT YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR

I have reasons for all of the above books. If you’re curious what those reasons are, you can message me down below.

Anyone can feel free to do this tag! I tag all of you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

