Rapid Fire Booktag

Oh hey, two posts in one day. Remarkable right? Well not so much if you are using posting in your book blog to procrastinate from doing marking that you desperately need to do. I’ll do some stuff afterwards (promise to myself).

In a sense I was tagged by Birdie Bookworm as she tagged everyone. I’ll do the same *cackles maniacally…unless you actually wanted to do it in which case, awesome!*

So without further ado for more information click down below!

EBOOKS OR PHYSICAL BOOKS?

I love physical books, but let’s be real I live overseas. I also stay pretty busy, as a result I tend to “read” a fair portion of my books in audiobook format as well. If you don’t have time, you don’t have time.

PAPERBACK OR HARDBACK?

I prefer paperback for reading purposes, and actually when I have a choice I usually collect paperbacks, as I only collect books I know I’ll want to reread at some point, otherwise they sit there and collect dust and I live in East Asia so I don’t have the space to afford very many things sitting around being idle. Move here if you want incentive to not be a hoarder, seriously!y

ONLINE OR IN-STORE BOOK SHOPPING?

Again…overseas. As a result of that and the fact that book depository is cheaper than the book store here, I usually just book depository it, however I do enjoy going into book stores (especially Chapters when I’m over in Canada)

TRILOGIES OR SERIES?

It really depends on the author/pacing and whether or not the author has enough ideas and enough of a story to sustain something longer.

HEROES OR VILLAINS?

I love anti-heroes and morally grey characters. Those are probably my favourites. A hero or a villain are both great, as long as they are nuanced and actually have characterization.

A BOOK YOU WANT EVERYONE TO READ?

anneofgreengables

Anne of Green Gables, without a doubt! It’s just super cute and fun and amazing. Ok, maybe I don’t want EVERYONE to read it, but certainly I want most women and girls and any boys/men who are interested to give it a shot!

RECOMMEND AN UNDERRATED BOOK.

nicedragons

Ok, so in a sense this isn’t underrated at all. Over 5000 people have read this and it has a review of 4.13 / 5 on Goodreads. These are the reasons why I’m including it: 1. I don’t read a lot of books I would truly consider underrated (in the sense that I look at reviews and blurbs both when deciding what to read next and don’t really read randoms), 2. I do think this book is amazing and that more people should have read it, but the issue is it’s impossible to find ebooks or published versions of this pretty much anywhere. This needs to be picked up by a major publisher! (call out to any major publisher who may be reading my blog! 😉 wishful thinking I know!)

THE LAST BOOK YOU FINISHED?M

Lost in Translation by Ella Frances Sanders is an amazing picture book with tons of beautiful / fun untranslatable words from different languages, that describe the human experience to a T. Mature Content by Santino Hassell and Megan Erickson is a super hot and absolutely stupendous m/m romance book. Both of them are great for different reasons.

Including two books just to show that, YES I do in fact read things other than M/M romance (in case you doubted it in any way due to recent posts).

WEIRDEST THING YOU USED AS A BOOKMARK?

An unused Kleenex or piece of plastic from packaging I guess. Nothing truly that strange. : /

USED BOOKS, YES OR NO?

Absolutely 100% yes! The only issue is, I live overseas in a non-English first language country, in East Asia (and not Singapore or Hong Kong which might have more options).

TOP THREE FAVORITE GENRES?

Fantasy, lgbtqi+ romance, creepy stuff (ok I know “creepy” is not technically a genre, but creepy can encapsulate horror or sci-fi)

BORROW OR BUY?

I’m repeating this a lot but…living overseas…yeah it’s a thing, in my life. As a result there aren’t a lot of books I can borrow in the public library system. I tend to borrow the kids, middle grade and YA books that I can at the schools I work at.

CHARACTERS OR PLOT?

Characters. 100%. Lack of good characterization / bland characters bothers me so much. I need my characters to be fully realized and have identities, hopes/fears, likes/dislikes, ect.

LONG OR SHORT CHAPTERS?

I need some kind of page breaks or natural places to stop if the chapters are longer. I guess I prefer shorter or medium length chapters, but regardless of chapter length the pacing just needs to feel right.

NAME THE FIRST THREE BOOKS YOU THINK OF.

Emily of New Moon, Ready Player One, Grasshopper Jungle (I’ve not read the last one on that list :P)

BOOKS THAT MAKE YOU LAUGH OR CRY?

I always feel odd when I read a book review and people write “this book made me bawl like a baby,” as very few books make me cry. Sometimes a good cry is nice, but I love cackling with laughter when I read a good book. T.J.Klune is oh-so-very good at it!

OUR WORLD OR FICTIONAL WORLDS?

I prefer fantasy / urban fantasy / sci fi worlds, but if it’s a good contemporary I’m completely and 100% for that. Time travel within our world is also awesome, as well as other planets / realities / dimensions. Clearly I’m not too picky, as long as the story is good.

AUDIOBOOKS: YES OR NO?

ABSOLUTELY. I wouldn’t get most of my reading done, without audiobooks. Honestly, I just don’t have the time to sit down and properly read. Plus there are some amazing audiobooks, such as The Lightening Struck Heart and Nice Dragons Finish Last.

BOOK TO MOVIE OR BOOK TO TV ADAPTATION?

I don’t really care, as long as it’s well done and fits what the book was trying to convey.

SERIES OR STANDALONE?

I know a lot of these answers are just, “it depends” but it’s true! It really depends on the story, where the story is going and the author’s vision.

TAGGING – EVERYONE!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Booktag

    • Yeah it is fun, quick to do too! You should totally do it! Yeah I need great characters. I love to fall in love with characters and empathize with them. Like yeah to tell certain kinds of stories you need unlikable characters but I really prefer rooting for them and/or feeling pain with/for them because I care! But even if a character isn’t likable they can still be a fully realized character / not be bland. I hate reading about stuff happening to super boring characters, even if said stuff is exciting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

